Bangladesh PM, Sri Lanka President To Attend Swearing-In Ceremony Of Narendra Modi

Share on:

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will leave Dhaka for New Delhi tomorrow to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India for a third consecutive term.

“The Prime Minister will leave Dhaka for New Delhi at 4 p.m. tomorrow and will return home at noon on June 9 after attending the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi,” said Bangladesh PM’s Speech Writer, M Nazrul Islam.

Earlier on Wednesday, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi invited his Bangladeshi counterpart to attend the swearing-in ceremony of his government during a conversation over the telephone. Sheikh Hasina accepted the invitation, reports Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS).

Mr Modi is likely to take oath on June 8 as the BJP-led NDA scraped past the majority mark to win 293 seats in the 18th Lok Sabha elections while the opposition INDIA bloc, secured 234 seats.

Earlier on Wednesday, Sheikh Hasina greeted Narendra Modi for winning the election for the third consecutive time. During a telephone conversation, the Prime Minister congratulated Modi on behalf of the people of Bangladesh, her government, her family members and herself on the resounding victory of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in the 18th Lok Sabha election.

 “This victory of NDA for the third consecutive term was made possible due to your strong leadership,” her Deputy Press Secretary Noorelahi Mina told the reporters, quoting the Premier as saying. She also mentioned the very cordial and friendly relations between Bangladesh and India, reports BSS.

Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe has accepted Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s invitation to attend his swearing-in ceremony, which is likely to take place on 8th of June.

The invitation was extended during a phone call by President Wickremesinghe to congratulate PM Modi on the historic victory in the recent elections, with NDA securing majority and Narendra Modi set to take the oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term.

In a post on X, Mr. Wickremesinghe congratulated Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on NDA’s electoral victory in a phone call.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

News Desk

News Desk of The Jaisalmer News collect, edit and publish most authentic news story. News Desk is group of well known news editors, news reporters and stingers who continues work of publishing news.