Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Warangal Set For Electorate Showdown

Share on:

In Telangana, Warangal is the second biggest city and is known as the cultural capital of the State. Renowned for its exquisite temples and lakes dating back to the Kakatiya era, Warangal is also renowned for Laknepally village, the birthplace of former Prime Minister P.V. Narasimha Rao. Akashvani Correspondent reports that Known as Orugallu, Warangal Lok Sabha Constituency has over 18 lakh electors with more women. Though a total of 42 candidates are in the election fray this time, the main fight to win Warangal is between BJP, BRS and Congress. Once a left-wing extremism-affected region, later Warangal became a hotbed of political activity and also an education hub.
Established in 1952, the Warangal constituency has been reserved for Scheduled Castes since 2009. The Congress won the seat 7 times, the Telugu Desam party won five times and the BRS clinched the seat four times.
During the last elections, P Dayakar of the TRS won the seat with a significant majority of over 3 and a half lakh votes. Following the BRS’s defeat in the recent Assembly elections, sitting MP Dayakar joined the Congress. Another party leader, Aroori Ramesh, who lost in the assembly election, joined the BJP and is now in the contest. The Congress fielded Kadiyam Srihari’s daughter, Dr. Kadiyam Kavya, who joined the party after turning down the BRS ticket. The BRS chose Zilla Parishad Chairman Dr. M Sudheer Kumar as its candidate. All three candidates of major parties are contesting for the Lok Sabha for the first time. The development of an industrial corridor, setting up agriculture processing units, the establishment of a railway coach factory in Kazipet and the Smart City Mission (SCM) in Warangal, corruption allegations against the BRS have prominently appeared in the campaigning and may influence the decision of the electorates. A large number of employees of the Singareni coal collieries in the Bhupalpally segment can also influence the outcome of the Warangal Lok Sabha constituency.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Soni

Rajendra Soni has more than 15 years of experience in publishing news and creating pages on newspapers and news sites. It is their job to select important news and publish it on this website.