Jammu-Samba-Reasi Lok Sabha Seat Set For Election With 22 Candidates, BJP And Congress In Key Contest

Share on:

In Jammu and Kashmir, the fate of 22 candidates will be decided by over 17.81 lakh voters of 5-Jammu-Samba-Reasi Lok Sabha seat in the second phase of General elections. Akashvani Jammu Correspondent reports that the Constituency is one of the 88 segments across the country going to the polls in the second phase to be held on April 26. Jammu Parliamentary Constituency is spread over three districts including Jammu, Samba and Reasi with a total number of 17, 81, 545 voters including 9,21,462 male 8,60,055 female and 28 transgenders. The Constituency has 2416 polling stations and 18 Assembly segments. There are 22 candidates in the fray but the main contest is between BJP and Congress. Jugal Kishore Sharma from BJP and Raman Bhalla from Congress are the prominent candidates. In 2014 and 2019, BJP won the Jammu Parliamentary Constituency, wherein the sitting Member of Parliament, Jugal Kishore Sharma emerged victorious. In the 2019 General Assembly Elections, Jammu witnessed a fiercely contested battle. The constituency witnessed a 72.49% voter turnout in the year 2019. BJP candidate Jugal Kishore won the 2019 General Election with a victory margin of 3,02,875 votes, securing 8,58,066 votes. He defeated Raman Bhalla of Indian National Congress, who got 5,55,191 votes. In 2014, Jugal Kishore Sharma had defeated Congress candidate Madan Lal Sharma.
The seat is witnessing star studded campaigning by senior BJP leaders including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, among others. On the other hand, senior Congress leader Sachin Pilot, Raj Babbar and senior National Conference leaders campaigned for the congress candidate and two times legislator and congress working president Raman Bhalla.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Soni

Rajendra Soni has more than 15 years of experience in publishing news and creating pages on newspapers and news sites. It is their job to select important news and publish it on this website.