Election In 6 Lok Sabha, 42 Assembly Constituencies Passes Off Peacefully In Odisha

Share on:

Election in 6 Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly constituencies passed off peacefully in Odisha on Saturday barring few minor untoward incidents with more than 63 percent of polling. The Lok Sabha constituencies which went for polls are Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur and Kendrapara.

There is a neck to neck fight between ruling BJD and BJP in most of the parliament and assembly constituencies, while in some constituencies there is a straight fight between the BJD and Congress. Prominent figures whose fate has been sealed in the EVMs include BJP’s former Union minister Pratap Chandra Sarangi and national vice-president Baijayant Panda, as well as BJD stalwarts Sudam Marndi, Lekhasri Samantsinghar, Manjulata Mandal and Ansuman Mohanty. Former Union Minister Srikant Jena of Congress and JMM’s Anjani Soren are among the other notable contenders among the 66 Lok Sabha candidates who are contesting in the Lok Sabha polls. In the Assembly polls which were held simultaneously in Odisha, BJD’s state ministers Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak and Preetiranjan Gharei are in the electoral arena.

The fate of BJP state president Manmohan Samal and former state Congress president Niranjan Patnaik have also been decided in today’s elections, results of which will come on 4th of June.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Soni

Rajendra Soni has more than 15 years of experience in publishing news and creating pages on newspapers and news sites. It is their job to select important news and publish it on this website.