BJP Considering Several Names For CM Post In Odisha

Share on:

In Odisha, the BJP is considering several names for the chief minister’s post after the resounding victory of the party in the just concluded assembly elections. 

All the 20 newly elected Members of Parliament have been summoned to Delhi for a discussion with senior leaders of the BJP tomorrow.

The party leadership will discuss on names for the first BJP chief minister in the state and also prepare a roadmap for the government formation.

Several names including six-time MP and former Union Minister Jual Oram, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and former Comptroller and Auditor General of India Girish Chandra Murmu are reportedly the front-runners for the coveted post.

However, the BJP may also come up with a surprise name for the post of Chief Minister. The BJP has created history in the Assembly elections by winning 78 of the 147 seats.

The BJD, which had been in power in Odisha since 2000, has been reduced to just 51 seats, while Congress won 14 and four going to others.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Soni

Rajendra Soni has more than 15 years of experience in publishing news and creating pages on newspapers and news sites. It is their job to select important news and publish it on this website.