3 Lok Sabha Seats In Rajasthan To Go To Polls In 2nd Phase On Friday

Share on:

Voting will be held on Friday for 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan. These include Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Basanwara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota and Jhalawar-Baran constituencies. All preparations have been completed for voting. Polling was held in 12 Lok Sabha seats in the first phase on 19th of April.

State Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Gupta told that over 82,000 security personnel have been deployed to ensure peaceful voting. 175 companies of central police forces have been deployed in sensitive areas. A total of more than 2 crore 80 lakh 78 thousand voters are eligible to cast their votes in these Lok Sabha constituencies.

Mr. Gupta told that live webcasting of the voting process will be done at 14,460 booths selected out of 28,758 polling stations. In this phase, 1,768 special polling centers will be set up to encourage voting.

A total of 152 candidates, including seven women, are in the fray for these 13 constituencies. Maximum 18 candidates are trying their fate from Chittorgarh while minimum 7 candidates are contesting from Jhalawar-Baran Lok Sabha constituency. All eyes are on the Barmer seat, where a triangular contest is being considered. The prestige of two former Chief Ministers, who are campaigning for their sons, Lok Sabha Speaker and Two Union Ministers is at stake in the second phase. Ashok Gehlot’s Son Vaibhav Gehlot is contesting from Jalore as Congress candidate while Vasundhara Raje son Dushyant Singh is contesting as BJP candidate from Jhalawar Lok Sabha seat. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla is BJP candidate at Kota seat, Union Ministers Gajendra Singh Shekhawat from Jodhpur and Kailash Chaudhry is in the fray from Barmer constituency as BJP candidate. 

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Soni

Rajendra Soni has more than 15 years of experience in publishing news and creating pages on newspapers and news sites. It is their job to select important news and publish it on this website.