Today Is Last Date For Withdrawal Of Candidature For Third Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections

Share on:

Today is the last date of withdrawal of candidature for the third phase of Lok Sabha polls. A total of 94 Lok Sabha seats in 10 States and two Union Territories will go to polls in this phase on the 7th of next month.

All 26 Parliamentary seats of Gujarat, 14 seats of Karnataka, 11 seats of Maharashtra, ten seats of Uttar Pradesh will go to poll in this phase.
Besides, eight seats of Madhya Pradesh, seven seats of Chhattisgarh, five seats of Bihar, Four seats each in Assam and West Bengal, two seats each in Goa and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir will go to polls in this phase.

In Assam, Four seats will be covered in the third phase. The nomination papers of 52 candidates were found valid in this phase while nomination of 8 candidates including sitting Kokrajhar MP Naba Sarania were rejected.

The BJP is contesting at Guwahati seat in the third phase while its ally Asom Gana Parishad is contesting from Barpeta and Dhubri seat. It’s another ally UPPL has field candidate at Kokrajhar seat. Congress has fielded candidates in all four seats. AIUDF, Bodoland People’s Front, CPI-M are also contesting in the third phase in Assam.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Sen

Rajendra Sen is passionate about uncovering the stories that matter. As an award-winning journalist, defense expert, and dedicated social worker, he brings a compassionate and informed voice to his work.