Preparations In Full Swing For 6th Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections; 58 Constituencies Spread Over 6 States And 2 UTs To Be Covered In This Phase

Share on:

Preparations are in full swing for 6th phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow. 58 constituencies spread over six states and two Union Territories to be covered in this phase.
National Capital Delhi is all set to go to polls in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow. In the seven Parliamentary Constituencies a total of 162 candidates are in the fray. Manoj Tiwari, and Bansuri Swaraj of BJP, Somnath Bharti and Kuldeep Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party and Kanhaiya Kumar and JP Agarwal of Congress are some of the prominent names. Akashvani correspondent reports, extensive arrangements are in place  to ensure smooth and efficient electoral process.
A total of one crore 52 lakh  people are eligible to exercise their franchise out of which  around 82 lakh are male  and 70 lakh are  female voters. The voting will take place across 13 thousand 637 polling stations spread across the seven Lok Sabha constituencies of the city.  A total of 70 pink polling stations have also been set up which will be entirely managed by women polling staff. For the firs time, each parliamentary constituency will have a polling station fully operated by persons with disabilities. With a view to enhance   voter turnout, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Delhi has partnered with bike-taxi aggregators to offer free rides to and from home after voting for the elderly people. It has also made arrangements at polling stations to protect voters from adverse weather conditions.
In Jammu and Kashmir, over 25 thousand Kashmiri migrants will exercise their franchise on May 25 in Anantnag-Rajouri constituency which is going to polls in sixth phase along with 58 constituencies spread all over the country. Akashvani Jammu Correspondent reports that the authorities have made all arrangements for voting in Jammu, Udhampur and NCR Delhi. 34 Special Polling Booths including 29 Special Polling Booths in Jammu, one in Udhampur and four in NCR Delhi have been set up for the purpose.
In Jammu eight polling booths will be Auxiliary Polling Stations, two each in Government Middle School Chinore, Government Higher Secondary School in Muthi, and Jagti township and one each in Agriculture Complex Udheywala Bohri and Anuradha Higher Secondary School. Besides, two Special Polling Stations are set up at Jagti township and at Muthi Camp Higher Secondary School which in addition to other facilities will have CCTV coverage facility also. The drinking water facilities will be made available while gifts will be given to first time voters.
To and fro transport facilities for all voters will be made available and Shamiyana facility will be provided in all Polling Stations in view of scorching heat. Like previous time the displaced voters will be allowed to cast their vote in the nearest polling booth of their residence in case their name is not enlisted in the extract voter roll of that polling booth.

Disclaimer: This press release is sourced from News On AIR, Prasar Bharti and Press Information Bureau India (PIB).

Rajendra Sen

Rajendra Sen is passionate about uncovering the stories that matter. As an award-winning journalist, defense expert, and dedicated social worker, he brings a compassionate and informed voice to his work.